Final call! Last day to register for the Abu Dhabi Grand Slam Rio and join some of Jiu-Jitsu’s biggest stars in Brazil

71
Photo by: Ivan Trindade | Gentle Art Media

The Abu Dhabi Grand Slam Jiu-Jitsu World Tour makes its third stop on November 12-13, in beautiful Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Some of the sport’s most important names are already signed up to fight at the Olympic Arena, both on gi and no-gi divisions. If you are thinking of joining them, you have until this Friday, November 4, 11:59PM (Abu Dhabi time), to register. The registration fee is US$50 for gi or no-gi or US$80 for both. Athletes of all nationalities can sign up. The event will award over US$ 100,000 in prizes to division champions The deadline time is the following in different parts of the world:

  • Los Angeles – November 4, 12:59PM
  • New York – November 4, 3:59PM
  • Rio de Janeiro – November 4, 5:59PM
  • London – November 4, 7:59PM
  • Paris – November 4, 8:59PM
  • Abu Dhabi, November 4, 11:59PM
  • Tokyo – November 5, 4:59AM

The list of athletes registered to compete makes a who is who in the black belt division in our sport today. It features the names of: Beatriz Mesquita, Mackenzie Dern, Luiza Monteiro, Larissa Paes, Ana Carolina Vieira, Jose Tiago Barros, Hiago Silva, Isaque Paiva, Celso Venicius, Gabriel Arges, Jose Junior, Felipe Pena, Ricardo Evangelista, Igor Silva, Luan Carvalho, among many others.

The Abu Dhabi Grand Slam Jiu-Jitsu Tour already had two very successful legs in Los Angeles (September 3-4) and Tokyo (October 23). After the third leg, in Rio, the Tour travels to Abu Dhabi, on January 13-14. Winners of selected divisions in Rio will also win travel packages for the leg in the UAE. The final stage of the Tour is scheduled March 18, in London, UK. Results at each leg of the Grand Slam Tour also earn points in the UAEJJF world ranking.

About the UAEJJF

With the support and guidance of His Highness  Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces, the UAE Jiu-Jitsu Federation was established in November 2012 as the official authority for Jiu-Jitsu in the UAE.

The Federation plays a leading role in supporting Jiu-Jitsu and contributing to building a strong generation of UAE athletes to excel at the local and international levels. The Federation’s role is to implement policies that develop the sport in collaboration with various government entities, educational institutions and other partners in order to advance the sport locally, regionally and globally.

For More Info:

Ivan Trindade | Gentle Art Media

Leave a Reply